Ethiopia, officially the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia (amárico: ኢትዮጵያ, Ityop'iya), known in olden days as Abyssinia or High Ethiopia, is a country located in the Horn of Africa. It borders to the North with Eritrea, to the Northeast with Djibouti, to the East with Somalia, to the South with Kenya and to the West with Soudan and South Sudan.

It is unique among the African countries in the fact that it was never colonized, maintaining its independence during the whole of the Partition of Africa, excepting for a period of five years (1936-1941) under Italian occupation. It is also the second most ancient nation in the world adopting Christianity as official religion. Its capital and biggest and most populated city is Addis Abeba.

The name Ethiopia derives from the Greek Αἰθιοπία Æthiopia, arising from Αἰθίοψ Æthiops ‘ethiopian’ which in Greek would mean burnt face (αιθ-burnt ὄψ-face). However, old Ethiopian sources state that the name derives from “Ityopp’is” (who was a son of the Biblical Cush, great grandchild of Noah).

Ethiopia has an estimated population of 84.320,987 inhabitants. Life expectancy is 52 years of age. The children average per woman is of 6, one of the highest rates in the world. It is estimated that 980,000 people, a 1.25% of the population, is infected with the IHV virus.

The main ethnic groups in Ethiopia are: Oromo, Amhara, Tigray, Sidama, Hadiya, Somali, Afar, Gurage, Gamo, Welaita, Argoba and Rastafari.

There also are minority tribes such as: Surma, Mursi and Hamer…

Its language is as rich as its ethnic groups, the Amaric, the Geez, the Tigriña, the Oromo, the Gurage, the Somalian and the Arab are the most widespread languages, apart from other local languages. English and Italian are also widely used especially in business, although the use of Italian is actually dwindling.